Gratitude Challenge- Day #15

Standard

“Take time to focus on yourself.  Appreciate and give thanks for your unique personality, skills and talents.” 

I have always found it so hard to focus on myself, especially since I became a mom.  My entire life I have found it difficult to come up with things that make me unique and exactly what my skills and talents are.  When I think of skills and talents, I think of someone who can play the piano beautifully, can paint a magnificent piece of art, and can play sports at the highest level.  And I’m none of those things.  I have always felt…  well…  sort of…  average…

I remember one time in youth group, we were given a piece of paper and we had to write down one thing about yourself that we thought was beautiful.  If memory serves, it was to be the one thing that we thought was the most beautiful thing about yourself and it HAD to be a physical characteristic.  I remember staring at that blank slip of paper for the longest time.  I sat there holding it with not a single thing coming to mind.  Eventually, time was up and we HAD to turn it in.  I wrote “nose”.  I didn’t really think that my nose was particularly beautiful, but I had to write SOMETHING.  Then a few months later, I was in a car accident and broke my nose in 3 places and had stitches across my face.  I took it as a sign to not focus on myself, especially physical characteristics.  Basically, I told myself to not be vain because there are sooooo much more important things to focus on.  For example, being a great daughter, friend, and person.

So, I posted a status on facebook stating that I was having trouble with this day’s challenge.  These are the responses that I received:

“Your sense of humor is great, you have a gift of caring about others, and you’re very intelligent and fun to be around. Does that help a little? 🙂 Oh, and a fabulous sense of style!”

“You are a great friend!! You care about others. Sometimes in front of yourself. You like to have fun and laugh. That makes others feel comfortable around you. You have a lot of good.”

“I will always remember this crazy girl that I went to camp and cleaned up her bed that had a curling iron, make up, and a whole bunch of stuff on her bed! We just threw the sheet over it as we didn’t know so much stuff could be brought to one week of camp!!! LOL! Always having a smile on your face and doing crazy things!”

(Thanks to all my friends for the ‘save’ on this challenge 🙂 )

About amyunjaded

MOMMY, AVID COLTS FAN, CARMEL LOVER, AND ON A QUEST TO GET MY MOXIE BACK. This blog is a the story of how I became un-jaded. I hope my story helps others who have become un-jaded or those who have lead to the un-jading. Any and all content is property of me and copyrighted by me~ unless, of course, it is pictures or content that I have shared from other sources, then obviously they are property of those sources. "Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind." ~Dr. Seuss "Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light." ~Steven Kloves, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban "Damaged people are dangerous. They know they can survive". ~Josephine Hart

2 responses »

  1. Sounds like you have amazing friends, so I think you can add to your list – amazing friend 🙂 Its not always easy to be a good friend when you are raising a kid. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

