Learn somethin’ new everyday

Standard

I learned something about myself today. Maybe I just didn’t want to see it before or maybe I ignored it about myself…

But today, I realized that sometimes my natural and maybe only defense or shielding mechanism that I have about a “certain situation” is to be flippant about it.

When people ask about it or just generally are telling me a story that relates closely to me, my first reaction is to be flippant. Also, I noticed that when people are gushing about their wonderful own lives and situations, I kind of “zone out”. Not that I don’t care- I do! But, that I either can’t or don’t want to deal with it. I definitely need to work on this! It’s not ok to treat people like that and I want to be a great friend and an all around better person.

Leave a Reply

