Proud Professional Procrastinator

Standard

Proud Professional Procrastinator

I always say, “Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow?”  I’m a proud procrastinator- I just can’t help it.  I try to procrastinate just about everything for as long as I possibly can.  You’d think all that procrastination would lead to panic later when I have to hurry up to do whatever the task is, but no I don’t.

I especially procrastinate things that I dislike doing.  If my house needs cleaned, I just watch a commercial for hoarders and then I realize that my house isn’t that dirty.  Since it’s not “that” dirty, I have more time to clean it later when it’s possibly closer to the hoarders level of dirty.  Although, a dirty house makes me cranky, so maybe that’s not a good example.

Anyhoo, thank goodness for facebook, pinterest, and even this blog for giving me an outlet for my pent up procrastination!  I don’t know how I’d ever procrastinate without them!

I do have certain deadlines in life and work that obviously meet and get done.  But, the nitty gritty stuff in life or smaller stuff, I try to procrastinate as much as I can.  I don’t exactly know why, but it seems like a good plan.  Maybe I’m in a state of blissful denial regarding the harm in my procrastination.

Things will eventually get done anyway, so what’s the point in rushing them anyway?  And for those of you scoffing and my procrastination- how can you truly appreciate the joys of procrastination if you’ve never really tried it.  Procrastination has a certain magic and I kind of think anti-procrastinators are missing out.

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Procrastination

 

According to http://procrastinus.com/the-joy-of-procrastination/

Procrastinator’s Creed:

  1. I believe that if anything is worth doing, it would have been done already.
  2. I shall never move quickly, except to avoid more work or find excuses.
  3. I will never rush into a job without a lifetime of consideration.
  4. I shall meet all of my deadlines directly in proportion to the amount of bodily injury I could expect to receive from missing them.
  5. I firmly believe that tomorrow holds the possibility for new technologies, astounding discoveries, and a reprieve from my obligations.
  6. I truly believe that all deadlines are unreasonable regardless of the amount of time given.
  7. I shall never forget that the probability of a miracle, though infinitesimally small, is not exactly zero.
  8. If at first I don’t succeed, there is always next year.
  9. I shall always decide not to decide, unless of course I decide to change my mind.
  10. I shall always begin, start, initiate, take the first step, and/or write the first word, when I get around to it.
  11. I obey the law of inverse excuses which demands that the greater the task to be done, the more insignificant the work that must be done prior to beginning the greater task.
  12. I know that the work cycle is not plan/start/finish, but is wait/plan/plan.
  13. I will never put off until tomorrow, what I can forget about forever.
  14. I will become a member of the ancient Order of Two-Headed Turtles (the Procrastinator’s Society) if they ever get it organized.

 

About amyunjaded

MOMMY, AVID COLTS FAN, CARMEL LOVER, AND ON A QUEST TO GET MY MOXIE BACK. This blog is a the story of how I became un-jaded. I hope my story helps others who have become un-jaded or those who have lead to the un-jading. Any and all content is property of me and copyrighted by me~ unless, of course, it is pictures or content that I have shared from other sources, then obviously they are property of those sources. "Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind." ~Dr. Seuss "Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light." ~Steven Kloves, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban "Damaged people are dangerous. They know they can survive". ~Josephine Hart

Leave a Reply

