Practice makes (almost) Perfect

Standard

I’m not a perfect person. I don’t even bother with pretending like I am. I make mistakes and I am usually the first one to admit them. Maybe sometimes I makes mistakes or hurt people that I didn’t intend or set out to do. Everybody makes mistakes, right?

I think it’s important to realize my own short-comings. I’m a complete type-a personality and everything that comes with it. I speak my mind. Maybe a tad too sarcastic. (Ok, maybe more than a tad 🙂 ) I like things done my way. I hate change.

So when I’m upset by something, I need to step back and look at it from a new perspective. Is it something that I should be genuinely upset about or is it something that makes me upset because of one of the above personality traits. I can’t really be too upset if a certain task gets done JUST because it wasn’t done my way or the way I would have done it. Maybe in the heat of the moment, I don’t see that perspective. But, looking back, I can see it and often feel like an idiot.

All of that being said, I am happy about myself. I kind of like all of my quirks- they make me who I am! I have often said “why be normal? normal is boring!” Don’t get me wrong, I’m not one of those weirdos who runs around town singing to themselves nor do I wear mis-matching clothes with birkenstocks and petulie oil (sorry if you like petulie, just makes me think of a town weirdo). I like what I like and I am who I am. Conforming, in a traditional sense, is just not for me.

I mean can anyone of us imagine what life would be like without sarcastic Amy? My sarcasm isn’t intended to mean-spirited. My jokes are often inappropriate, but that’s what makes them fun. Who else would laugh at or make light of a tense or serious situation?

That’s me and I’m happy with me.

Image

One response »

  1. this comment was given to me by david buckham on my fb posting of this blog and he made such a good point that i had to post it here, as well-

    No one is perfect. Even those who practice. I’ve always taught my guitar students, “Practice makes permanent.” How you practice is how you will perform. If you practice lousy (or not at all), it will show. If you practice well (and often), it will show. Repeat the smallest fundamentals day in and out till they are more than habitual and the rest of the blocks will just add up. After I tell my students this, I tell them, if you realize this one single lesson, it applies to every area of life (even sarcasm). 😀

Leave a Reply

